Splittng multiframe/volume DICOM

Let me start by saying I am a novice in the use of DICOM files when it comes to anything more than viewing/interpreting the final products in PACS, so please excuse me for the use of any incorrect nomenclature, I will do my best to explain this in a way that will help you help me.

I am currently in the process of performing spectral analysis on DECT images. For this I require the iodine(-water) and water(-iodine) maps. Both these maps are produced in a single series, so if there are 450 slices, the series will contain 900 images, for each position one iodine-water and one water-iodine map. In PACS (Sectra IDS7) when one opens the series it allows you to scroll through 450 images of the first set (iodine-water) after which it “loops around” and one can scroll through the 450 images of the second set (water-iodine), in doing so it stays within the same series (making this presumably a multivolume/multiframe series). So far so good.

However when I load the images into 3D slicer using the DICOM loader it jumbles the sets. Individually each set is still in the right order, but the two sets are merged with (random) break points (i.e. it will be in the order of A1-A2-A3 B1-B2-B3-B4 A4-A5 B4-B5 … A448 B449 B500 A449 A500, with A and B being the two sets). This makes it rather hard to interpret, but more importantly not very useful when it comes to segmentation prior to analysis.

I tried using the advanced DICOM viewer and followed the instructions found here Switch between multiple images type in one series - #3 by n2018, but so far to no avail. The problem, in so far as I can tell, is that the tags that differ between the one set and the other are not included in the grouptags of MultiVolumeImporterPlugin. Though from what I gather from several other posts (e.g.: Split Scalar Volume into Multiple Frames) this plugin is not the advised way to be tackling this problem anyway.