Using 3DSlicer for Optical Coherence Tomography (St Jude's)

Hi Everyone,

I’m very new to 3D slicer, I just downloaded it to try get some 3D images for a case report but having some trouble.

Not sure if anyone has experience in using the St Jude’s OCT system (used in cardiology for imaging inside the coronary arteries, https://www.sjm.com/optis/index.html). This system can export a DICOM file which I’ve then tried loading into 3DSlicer however the ‘DICOM’ importer doesn’t work, when I examine the file it comes up with:
“Multi-frame image. If slice orientation or spacing is non-uniform then the image may be displayed incorrectly. Use with caution. Reference image in series does not contain geometry information. Please use caution.”

Using the Add Data widget allows the study to load but it doesn’t give a 3D image or allow editing. It does make a volume render which I’ve tried using the ‘Crop Volume’ module but this just crashed the program.

Anyone have any idea of what to do? I’ve posted a quick screenshot below.

Cheers,
Justin

The image looks good, it’s a 3D volume, as it shows up with significant extent in three orthogonal slice viewers.

Volume rendering and most editing operations are only supported for grayscale volumes, so you have to convert your color image to grayscale, using Vector to Scalar volume module.

It might be better to export your OCT as a grayscale (scalar) volume - you can then apply any colormaps after you load that into Slicer.

If you cannot scroll in any of the slice viewers, then maybe only a screen capture is saved.

Can you share a data set? (preferably phantom data; make sure no patient data is contained in the files)

I can scroll through the 2d pictures and the orthogonal views work… I’ll
try make it grayscale and also upload a anonymous dicom to Dropbox, just
need to export again from work…