3D Assessment of Mandibular asymmetry

Hello 3DSlicer experts,
I am a PhD Student, working on my PhD project.
My goal is to measure the volume of the asymmetry using segmented mandibles (comparing one hemimandible with the other one).
Following the tutorials I found on the website of DCBIA team, I have done the segmentation and the mirroring image with the software ITK-SNAP, the landmark approximation and the voxel based registration relative to the cranial base, the construction of the surface models and the quantification of the changes using a Color Map.
But I was not able to find any tutorial about how to use SPHARM-PDM shape analysis for doing the statistics and I am having some challenges using color maps for quantification and also using a kind of reference to split the mandible in two halves.
Can anybody help me to figure it out?

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Hello Pilar,

Sorry for the delay in replying. We have put together a new and updated SPHARM-PDM tutorial. That should help you understanding how to run the updated SPHARM-PDM. SPHARM-PDM can be used as part of SlicerCMF, Slicer and it is currently a module of SlicerSALT.

We are currently developing an updated ShapeStatistics module. It is currently possible to run our shape statistics methodology as matlab scripts and we are in the process of updating those scripts to Slicer modules.

Could you please describe what are your challenges for color map quantification?

What we have used in the past to split the mandibles are just based on landmarks, usually the mid-point between tmj condyles and the chin. This can be done using first Q3dc and then easy clip.

I hope that helps!
Best regards,

Bea

Hello Beatriz,
Thank you for your kind and useful response.

So, if I understood it correctly, the first thing I must do is to locate the landmarks using Q3DC and then get the hemimandibles using the Easy Clip tool.