DWI, DTI, Tractography

Operating system: Windows
Slicer version: 4.11.0
Expected behavior:
Actual behavior: Hi everyone

I have been given a new DWI project. The project compares different sequencing parameters to visualize the facial nerve. I’m a beginner to the MRI field including DTI and DWI topics. I read the tutorial of SoniaPujol entitled “WhiteMatterExplorationTutorial_SoniaPujol-RonKikinis” and could follow the steps on the tutorial dataset successfully. However, when I tried to apply the same steps to my data, I couldn’t. I tried to find the differences between my data and the dataset of the tutorial and found:

• The tutorial dataset includes in one file, 41 volumes acquired with 41 different diffusion-sensitizing gradient directions, and one baseline image acquired without diffusion weighting.
  • While I have 3 images’ files for each sequence parameters:
  • 1 file contains the baseline image (b0)
  • 1 file contains the DW images
  • 1 file contains the T2 images that we want to use for selecting the ROI.
    I read about image registrations and masking on the Q&A page, but I get confused, there are too many topics and I don’t know which one suits my data. So, can anyone tell me the steps (in order) I should follow to prepare my data for FN tractography?

Attached is a screenshot of my files.

Best regards
Mohammed

Hi @Mohammed_Alahmari -

Unfortunately it looks like you may only have a partial dataset and there’s not much you can do until you get ahold of some more information. I’ll give you some hints, but the field of diffusion imaging has a lot of “gotcha” issues that make it very hard to work with data unless you are very familiar with exactly how it was produced (what software and what conventions were used).

If the file marked “DWI” is a raw diffusion weighted scan, then you would need to have the bvals and bvecs files in order to interpret it for tractography.