Segment radioactive seeds in brachytherapy patients and calculate dose

Hi Csaba,
I am working with Tina Kapur now. I am a doctor and physicist focus on 125I seeds brachytherapy in China. It is difficult to use TPS to segment the seed in CT automatically. After the brachytherapy, the physicist have to pick up the seeds one by one manually to finish the postoperative dose calculation. This is difficult sometimes and time consuming. Is there a way to segment the seeds with slicer easily? Maybe we can use slicer to calculate the dose after seeds and tumor segmentation. In the brachytherapy TPS, the seeds were assumed as a point source to calculate dose. So if we can segment the seeds and find the center of them, we can assumed the center as the point source. Then dose can be calculated. For the tumor and organ at risks, at first we can segmented them manually or use the segmentation method of radiotherapy.
Thank you very much.
.ā€‹ā€‹

Hi Hongtao,

I downloaded the dataset you shared. I think it can be segmented in Segment Editor by using the threshold effect first, then the Scissors effect to cut out the unneeded parts. I will try to figure out a better way if I have more time.

The seed locations can be then acquired as follows:

1. Segment the seeds so that only the seeds are in the segmentation, and they are not merged (an individual ā€œblobā€ for each seed)
  2. Use the Island effectā€™s Split islands to segments option to separate them to individual segments
  3. A simple script can create fiducials at the center of masses of the seeds. I can easily write such a script for you

These seed ficucials can then be the input for the dose calculation, which - as Greg explained on the mailing list (for the record he pointed to the AAPM TG-43 dose calculation formalism, and mentioned that validation using film or other method is necessary) - is easy to do, I imagine with a simple convolution.