Changing location of label for fiducial points

Hi all,

I’m new to slicer, so apologies if this question is basic. I’ve been reading the documentation, but haven’t been able to figure this out.

I need to annotate an image by marking several points. However, these points are extremely close to each other in the image. When I add points with labels, the labels overlap and become unreadable, no matter how small I make the text.

Is there any way that the label could be moved away from the point itself, perhaps with a line pointing to the marker? Here is an example of what is happening:

Screen Shot 2021-11-12 at 2.22.31 PM

1 Like

Controls for this would be great! I don’t know if they exist, but I run into this problem frequently as well.

Searching through this site, I found this, which might be helpful for you:

1 Like

Looks like many of the features we might find helpful are implemented through vtkTextProperty (VTK: vtkTextProperty Class Reference)

As noted above, orientation can be set with SetOrientation, distance from point (perpendicular to baseline) set with SetLineOffset, and relative positioning to point set via the following:

myMarkupNode.GetDisplayNode().GetTextProperty().SetJustificationToCentered()
myMarkupNode.GetDisplayNode().GetTextProperty().SetJustificationToLeft()
myMarkupNode.GetDisplayNode().GetTextProperty().SetJustificationToRight()
myMarkupNode.GetDisplayNode().GetTextProperty().SetVerticalJustificationToCentered()
myMarkupNode.GetDisplayNode().GetTextProperty().SetVerticalJustificationToBottom()
myMarkupNode.GetDisplayNode().GetTextProperty().SetVerticalJustificationToTop()

None of these will produce a line connecting the label with the point, but otherwise, there is a fair amount of flexibility here.

Text size is defined in screen space, so you can make the labels non-overlapping by zooming in or reducing the text size.