Segments created in segment editor are a collection of unconnected stripes

Hello
I am new to 3Dslicer but I think it is a cool tool that could be useful for segmentation purposes. I hope you can help me.

When creating segments in the segment editor I encounter problems. I am running version 4.8.1 and I have the exact same problems in two different computers one of which is running Ubuntu and the other Windows:

I can draw the outline of the segment and right-click to create a connected segment but doing so most often does not result in the interior being colored but instead that the interior is divided into a pattern of colored and non-colored stripes. In the 3D view, the stripes also occur so it is not just a display problem. It is also not possible to interpolate between slices once this phenomenon occurs. Once the stripey look appears it also blends over to other slices that have not been contoured yet. I have has similar problems with “paint” but it is more repeatable with the “Draw” tool. Yesterday, the segment editor suddenly worked correctly but having restarted 3DSlicer today the problem is there again. Is the problem well known and do you have a work-around.

Thank you,
Bo

Hi Bo,

Probably your volume is non-axis aligned, and the slice you are drawing on is not one slice in the volume, but more. See discussion Display issue with RT structs and MR volume

Also I’d like to suggest using the nightly Slicer 4.9.0, there have been many fixes and minor improvements since 4.8.1.

Hi Csaba

Thank you for the response. I did actually also try the nightly build and the behavior was the same. I was using the sample “MR US prostate” data and that data was indeed rotated in the axial view. However after rotating it as you suggest, I cannot contour it. the moment I right-click or type “a” the contour disappears. Is that behavior expected?

Kind regards,
Bo